Home > Series > Some Hints on the Third-Way Collage

Some Hints on the Third-Way Collage

14 October 2010

Some hints...

i)  The Third-Way, if it existed, is by definition a community of like-minded conservative Episcopalians, primarily made up of laity. 

ii)  Each of the images in the collage I presented earlier this week bear a special relationship to a community. 

iii)  As a corollary to (ii), if I look at an image and see, visibly, more than one living thing, then it’s safe to say that I am looking at a community.  Whether that community is good (as in our hypothetical Third Way movement) or bad (as in the institutional evil of TEC) is another question entirely.

iv)  As an additional corollary to (ii), if I look at an image and do not see, visibly, more than one living thing, then it’s safe to say that I am not looking at a community.  If I am not looking at a community, then either I am looking outwards from a community, or the image does not say anything about the Third Way movement. 

v)  Everything inside the images is important to the Third Way movement.

vi)  Everything not in the image but related to it is also important, but for different reasons.

vii)  Other concepts to consider when viewing the images: 

– Perspective.  (s).

– Commodity.

– Commodity acquisition.

Categories: Series
