Home > Series > The Third Way (Part II): Some Food for Thought

The Third Way (Part II): Some Food for Thought

11 October 2010

Tomorrow is homework day for my pre-Kindergartener.  Typically, she brings home a worksheet with one of the letters of the alphabet for “her” homework.  “She” is then tasked with searching the internet for images of animals that begin with the letter, which are then printed, cut, and pasted into a collage of sorts. 

Okay, I fess – Mommy and Daddy do the homework. 

Okay, I fess again – the teachers expect the parents to do the homework, so there’s nothing wrong here. 

But, I am in collage mode now, so I thought I’d run with it for this article. 

There are two analogies that have been banted around for some time now.  I thought I’d talk a little about each of them, and then present my own analogies.  The difference with me, is that I am going to present my analogies in the form of a collage, and then let the reader’s imagination fill in the blanks.  Since the movement doesn’t exist now anyway, it’s probably best if our imaginations get a workout. 

The first analogy offered by some Third-Way strategists is that of a safe place within a burning building.  The problem I have with this is that even if a room could be maintained that was fire-proof, and conditioned with fresh air, and not subject to falling debris .. who would want to live in such a room?  I realize that it’s “just an analogy,” but families are being asked to live indefinitely in a situation that finds no basis in Reality. 

The second analogy offered by some strategists is that the Third Way movement should be like the French Resistance during WWII.  I like this analogy in that it presents a large secret organization that exists in spite of a larger more powerful organization.  What I don’t like about it, is that it seems a bit too stressful – who wants to live their life living in a WWII resistance cell, when they don’t have to?  Also, in my opinion, one of the goals of the Third Way should be to minimize contact with revisionist elements within TEC;  whereas I’m not sure that the goal of WWII resistance movement was similar in this regard. 

With that in mind, I would like to present a couple of my own analogies;  again, in collage format.  If my readers find it too confusing, I promise to spend some time one or two weeks from now, talking about what I think these mean.  Until then, I welcome your own comments. 

Again, the purpose of the exercise is to fire the imagination. 

1: 

ii: 

– Elder

H/T:  Boxalley, and a Real Estate Website

Categories: Series
  1. Rob Eaton+
    11 October 2010 at 1:30 AM

    🙂

  2. 11 October 2010 at 4:50 PM

    Photo #1
    The refueling station where people can go to get a fillup of some high octane, high performance stuff for their engines so that they can stay on the highway. Or they can stop, use the restrooms, flush out all the metabolized badness, and sit down and have a cup of coffee with fellow sojourners.

    Photo #2,
    Behold the turtle, he only makes progress when he sticks his neck out.

  3. BillB
    11 October 2010 at 6:37 PM

    My thoughts from what you have posted — be like the Methodists were back in the late 18th Century. They were in the CoE but also met apart from the CoE to support one another as in your filling station anology.

  4. Elder Oyster
    11 October 2010 at 11:12 PM

    Hi UGP,

    Very interesting response. I like it. In other words, sometimes there is a social aspect to a filling station, and sometimes there is not.

    Very good. Very good. Keep ’em coming, folks. 🙂

  5. Elder Oyster
    11 October 2010 at 11:14 PM

    Hi Bill,

    Interesting too. One of my friends is a graduate of Trinity, and she brought up the Methodists as well when I told her my thoughts about the Third Way. 🙂

    I hadn’t thought of a filling station as a hang-out. But that is a fascinating thought.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
