Fork

20 September 2010

This summer has been eventful, to put it lightly. 

At the beginning, there was that awful thing that suspended my family between this and that

Later, there was another jarring event that threw another emotional dimension into the mix, making for a very odd emotional state. 

Then again, you know what they say – Cheer up, things could be worse.  So, I cheered up, and sure enough, things got worse.  As a consequence of the latest bottom dropping out, I have removed my family from the Episcopal Church. 

The question I’ve wrestled with for quite some time now, is what to do with this blog.  This statement by Dr. Mabuse summarizes exactly how I feel this moment about using the weapons of humor and blogging in the war against the evils of this decrepit age: 

…The stupidity of the religious Left has stopped being funny to me, and I find that commenting on their continuing decomposition just isn’t worth the energy genuine indignation would require. .. I’m starting to feel like M. Scott Peck dealing with one of his evil-infected patients: that the sickness of so many parts of the world today is so great that it will overwhelm me if I don’t get away from it. 

 

Incidentally, this is excerpted from Dr. Mabuse’s recent farewell post to her audience – Guess what’s been on my mind lately?  😉

On the other hand, I have some ideas about how to put this blog to continued good use, without having to deal with DSO’s shenanigans.  And there are stories that need to be told still yet – the stories about those who have moved on from the chaos of this diocese.  And then too, there is the need to keep a vigilant eye on those hardy Christians who have not been called out of DSO. 

Obviously, I have a lot of thinking and praying to do about the direction to take this blog. 

I do know that things are pretty bad, when a guy who was the last man standing in his vestry 10 years ago, when his parish went through a major split, throws in the towel. 

– Elder

For those of you who I have sought offline about this, I thank you for your ear and for your continued patience.

Categories: Elder's Soft Inside
  1. 20 September 2010 at 2:17 AM

    Congratulations on making the decision. I’m thinking that there are many of us who would be interested in what your plans are for the future in terms of religious affiliation, etc.

  2. Elder Oyster
    20 September 2010 at 11:37 AM

    Hi Perpetua

    Bear in mind that my only decision so far has been to get out of TEC; and that part of me wishes that there would have been a way to remain. I am in fact a proponent of Sarah Hey’s call for a Third Way for dissenting Episcopalians. I may write a few posts about how this might be possible in a diocese like DSO.

    As for affiliation, I would currently classify myself as Salsola Tragus. 😉

    But my next two decisions will be whether to continue the blog, and if so, what the new name would be.

  3. 21 September 2010 at 8:34 PM

    The third way has been a pretty nebulous thing as far as the average pewsitter goes so most people only understand staying or going. Perhaps things have deteriorated to the point where there are too few Episcopalians left who care to even look for a third way since the current majority appears quite happy with the direction of the church. Continued reporting of the truth will remain important, but all too often this does lead to the realization that we are on a sinking vessel while the crew and passengers dance around in fancy dress in the ballroom blissfully ignorant of the danger to their souls.

    The fact that the church has caused division in my household has been an issue for me. Don’t lose your soul over TEC if it comes down to it.

    Pray for us as we pray for you. U.P.

  4. Elder Oyster
    22 September 2010 at 11:16 AM

    RE: “Perhaps things have deteriorated to the point where there are too few Episcopalians left who care to even look for a third way since the current majority appears quite happy with the direction of the church.”

    That could be. The problem with the Third Way idea is that it was needed immediately after the formation of the ACNA.

    RE: “The fact that the church has caused division in my household has been an issue for me. Don’t lose your soul over TEC if it comes down to it. ”

    I couldn’t, if I tried. I did leave however, out of concern for the spiritual nurture of my household.

  5. episcopalienated
    28 September 2010 at 7:25 PM

    Elder Oyster:

    I am a little late checking in on your blog and have just now become aware of your decision to leave the Episcopal Church. My overwhelming initial reaction is simply to say: “Good for you!”

    I think that parents have the best of all reasons for doing so and I have no doubt that our Lord Himself has commanded many to do exactly that. Now you will not have to worry about your little Oysterette coming home with the Gene Robinson coloring book, or the Bishop Spong Study Bible (all 50 pages of it) when she is older, or sitting in Church School trying to figure out what in the world Marcus Borg was talking about. Nor will you have to explain to her why some of the nonsense being set forth by the bishop or the parish priest is not what you believe. Who knows what else lies ahead?

    That may be a most important part of the difference that only you can make in her life, and in the life of your family as a whole. Rest assured that you and yours have my prayers and best wishes.

    Remaining in place to serve as “a sign of contradiction” to much of what is going on around us in the Episcopal Church will continue to be a vocational calling for some of us. But we would be derelict in our Christian duty if we failed to notice that the Lord has called other people to do other things.

    May God’s grace preserve us from the pride and presumption which would cause us to imagine that those others should listen to our voice rather than His, and may it sustain you in every step along the way.

    episcopalienated

  6. Elder Oyster
    28 September 2010 at 11:09 PM

    Hey Bro,

    You may feel good about it, but to me it’s a bitter pill. There were a few things that I worked out that would be my exit point, when I joined TEC. One of the ‘things’ happened. I thought about one possible staying-strategy, but didn’t see a way to fix the problems that caused the first bottom to drop out.

    Confused? If so, let me know and we’ll talk offline. 🙂

    I suspect that there is a way that would make staying accessible to most conservatives.

    Which reminds me .. 😉

    – Elder

    PS – Your words are a trip to a water park, during any day during this past summer.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
