Home > Elder's Soft Inside > Cruise-Control

Cruise-Control

2 July 2010

Last month about this time, I announced that I was taking some time off to devote to other needful projects.  After the sawdust cleared and I started to get back into the blogging rhythm, God surprised us with some character-building exercises.  We’ve borne up admirably (if I do say so myself), but I find that when I sit down to write, it’s difficult to slog through even the most rudimentary of posts.  It’s not as if I no longer view the purpose of this blog as important (I do, more than ever), but my mind is just occupied with things that loom larger for me than DSO / TEO shenanigans. 

It’s life on cruise-control.  There’s grace there – the numbness enables me to get through another hour.  And anther day.  And… 

But .. it’s stunted the writing part of my brain. 

I had decided several months ago that if the writing ever got this difficult, it would be better to sit out the inning rather than churning out schlock for the sake of having something new everyday.  Accordingly, I’m going to take another “time-off,” until my blogging-legs return. 

I am keeping an eye on my email and on the comments, so feel free to drop a comment if the spirit moves ya.  And please keep checking back.  I’m sure I’ll be back at it before you know it. 

– Elder

Then he got an idea. An awful idea. The Grinch got a wonderful, *awful* idea!
– “Narrator,” Dr. Suess’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas

Categories: Elder's Soft Inside
  1. 2 July 2010 at 4:55 AM

    Get some rest. Love those who both fill and haunt your life. We’ll be here when you return.

    • Elder Oyster
      2 July 2010 at 4:40 PM

      Thanks, Nickie.

  2. 9 July 2010 at 11:47 AM

    Hmmm… are we now free to call rationed blogging an Oysterity Plan?

    (Thank you! Y’all come back. I’ll be here all week.)

    • Elder Oyster
      10 July 2010 at 8:19 PM

      I.
      am.
      not.
      worthy.

      😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
