Home > The Real Deal, Tidal pools > The NonJuror asks THE, Question

The NonJuror asks THE, Question

19 May 2010

It’s the question that all orthodox Anglicans ask ourselves at one point or another.  Heck, there are some weeks that I ask myself this question, once a day. 

From here.  I’ve excerpted the question and the answer, but what goes on in-between is fascinating.  So, hie thee hence and read the whole important piece. 

With the now completed consecration of the latest unrepentant individual to the episcopacy in The Episcopal Church, I have had to answer a serious question asked of me leading up to it and in its wake. That question is, “why haven’t you left, and when will you?” ..

And then there’s this gem:

From an outsider’s perspective, [people in the ACNA] seem to be really united by what they are against, than what they are for. ..

(BTW – I’ve heard that as an inside perspective! ). 

NJ continues:

Although, I can come up with arguments pro and con a move, I cannot disregard the continued refrain I hear in my prayers. I could choose to leave, and it might be best for me. However, I am continually reminded that I have been called to serve as a shepherd to a particular congregation at this time. I cannot, in good conscience, quit my post and leave these folk to the wolves. There may be a time when God will call me from this sheepfold, but until that time there are souls in need of the saving grace of Jesus Christ that I have been called to serve. ..

I agree completely.  I do not see all of the same dividing lines as my brother NonJuror, nor do I believe that I could swim the Bosporus (let alone the Tiber), but I do see my role in this portion of history similarly.  God has put me here for a reason.  As for my generation and my child’s generation, I believe that we have been called to live in a time of judgement, to bear up, clean up, and to rebuild. 

Consider him who endured from sinners such hostility against himself, so that you may not grow weary or fainthearted.
– Heb 12:3  (ESV)

Folks (and here, I’m talking to my brothers and sisters), no matter where you are in Anglicanism, I cannot overstate this:  It’s going to be long and messy.  And that’s only if the Lord tarries.  I shudder to contemplate the messiness if He does not tarry. 

– Elder

Categories: The Real Deal, Tidal pools
