Home > DSO Events, DSO News, Worship > U2charist at St. Pete’s-Delaware.

U2charist at St. Pete’s-Delaware.

13 May 2010

I really don’t know what to say about this. Will they be playing, “One” ? Some of the lyrics speak to me as if Jesus is speaking to me, but on the whole it .. doesn’t seem to fit a Eucharist service.

Some lyrics that would fit:

/One love / … / Leaves you baby if you / Don’t care for it /

/Did I disappoint you / or leave a bad taste in your mouth/

/We’re one, but we’re not the same/

/Have you come here for forgiveness/

/Did I ask too much / More than a lot / You gave me nothing / Now it’s all I got /

Like I said, some itty bitty bits fit, but on the whole, it doesn’t work so well.

Speaking of singers who blow U2 out of the water .. Instead of a U2charist, I propose that the folks at St. Pete’s do a EuCASHrist.

Here ya go, guys:

From the hands it came down

From the side it came down

From the feet it came down

And ran to the ground

Between heaven and hell

A teardrop fell In the deep crimson dew

The tree of life grew

And the blood gave life

To the branches of the tree

And the blood was the price

That set the captives free

And the numbers that came

Through the fire and the flood Clung to the tree

And were redeemed by the blood..

Who’s with me??

– Elder

Categories: DSO Events, DSO News, Worship
  1. Quasimodo
    13 May 2010 at 4:14 PM

    U2Charist? That’s so passe, it peaked four years ago.

    I propose a GreenDaycharist, or a Blowfishcharist, or even a Motley Cruecharist. All bands past their prime.

    BTW can we quit chasing the trendy, we don’t do it very well, and it makes us look desparate.

    Oh wait…

  2. Elder Oyster
    13 May 2010 at 4:27 PM

    I agree about needing something more trendy. We need to diss the old-school and be groovier. Like maybe we could be down with a M&Mcharist? Though, we might need to dialogue for several years about the green ones, so we could eventually ignore anyone offended by it. ‘cuz hey – if most of us agree that the green ones can be holy, then by gum, they’re holy.

  3. robroy
    14 May 2010 at 5:23 AM

    I am with you. Great video!

  4. Elder Oyster
    14 May 2010 at 5:38 AM

    Hi robroy .. You’re up pretty late!

    Is it because of insomnia or work? 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
