Home > Bp. Breidenthal, Movie Reviews, Theology > Movie Review: Shutter Island

Movie Review: Shutter Island

24 February 2010

There’s really not much I can say about the movie Shutter Island without giving the whole thing away. Critics either really loved it or really hated it. I side with those critics who assert that  it was a good movie with a good story that was well acted.

The one thing I will say is that Shutter Island is a story about a missing person, the same way that the song You Are My Sunshine is about romantic joy. And that is to say that the question you are asking throughout the story isn’t the question posed by the Story. Not by a longshot.

(Obviously, I like movies that ask such questions).

I do not think that this particular question makes sense for a Christian to ask, although Christianity answers it quite nicely, thank you very much. I do however believe it to be a perfectly viable question for a moral philosopher to pose, assuming that it is acceptable in that discipline to conflate action with agent.

…And yes, that was an allusion. 😉

– Elder

PS – Not for kids (do the math).

