Home > DSO News, Fisks, Slightly Off-Topic > DSO e-News: Ohio Interfaith Power & Light looking for a new Executive Director

DSO e-News: Ohio Interfaith Power & Light looking for a new Executive Director

8 February 2010

[H/T: Pearls Before Swine]

I happened on this interesting job advertisement in the latest edition of the DSO e-newsletter:

Ohio Interfaith Power and Light (OhIPL) is the Ohio affiliate of The Regeneration Project’s national Interfaith Power and Light campaign.

Apparently, they’re looking for an executive director.

The executive director is responsible for leading, growing and managing OhIPL, under the direction of the Board of Directors, Advisory Board and Coordinating Council. The executive director is expected to lead OhIPL to greater financial stability, grow the organization and achieve expanded results that support our mission.

The qualifications are somewhat puzzling.

Qualifications

· Knowledge of and passion for environmental issues, particularly global warming and energy issues, and an understanding of the connection between the natural world and religious life. A person who walks the talk.

· At least five years active involvement in a religious community; religious leadership experience preferred

· Executive level experience at a non-profit organization or similar entity, focused on leadership and collaboration

· Grant writing, fund raising, and administrative skills; fiscal management including budget development

· Excellent communication skills – a good public speaker and strong writer

· Proficient with Microsoft Excel and Word and online databases; website design skills a plus

· B.A. or B.S. required

· M. of Divinity, ordained clergy from all faith backgrounds, or MBA preferred 

Heh. For a nonprofit whose focus is on energy conservation, they don’t seem to care whether their organizational head knows anything about energy. I can only imagine how the interview would proceed out here in the Real World:

Interviewer:  “I see here that you have a Bachelor’s Degree in Fine Arts.”

Applicant:  (beaming)  “Yes, that’s correct.”

Interviewer:  “Did you take any physics or engineering classes while in college.”

Applicant:  (puzzled)  “Well, no; but I am very passionate about the goals of your organization and this position.”

Interviewer:   “I see. Do you mind if I give you a little quiz – this is just something I do to all job applicants.”

Applicant:  “Uh, sure. I guess so.”

Interviewer:  “What is the definition of ‘Work’ ?”

Applicant:  (grins widely) “Work is what you do at a job.”

Interviewer: (not amused) “What is the physical definition, I mean.”

Applicant:  “I’m not sure what you mean.”

Interviewer:  “Moving along… What is the definition of a Watt ?”

Applicant:  (grinning) “What?”

Interviewer:  (not amused)  (not returning the playful banter)  (staring at the interviewee with a poker face)  (seconds go by that seem like an eternity)

Applicant:  “Er, I know it has something to do with electricity. The package on a light-bulb always says something about how many watts the bulb is rated for.”

Interviewer:  “And what is the physical significance of that rating system?”

Applicant:   (proudly puffing out chest)  “I don’t know.  But I’m a quick study.”

Interviewer:  “Very well. Do you have any questions for me?”

Applicant:   “You did see that I fulfilled the other requirements for the position? That after attaining my fine arts degree, I went on to attain an MBA and then later to get my MDiv at seminary? ”

Interviewer:   “I saw that, yes. To tell you the truth, none of our other applicants had that kind of educational background.”

Applicant:  (Smiles widely)

Interviewer:   (Rises from the conference table, extends hand for a handshake) “Thank you for coming down today. I’ll walk you over to receptionist desk so you can get signed out.”

Applicant:  (shaking hand a little too vigorously)  “Thank you for the interview. I look forward to working for your fine organization.”

Interviewer:  (already making a beeline for the receptionist) “Mmm.”

– Elder

PS – OhIPL’s website may be found here.

  1. Quasimodo
    11 February 2010 at 2:01 AM

    Of course an MBA and an M.Div are exactly equivalent. I know this of course, as my M.Div taught me all the skills I needed to run a small business, such as inventory, budgeting, human resources, finance, fund-raising, etc.

    On second thought, maybe I should go see a local business about that Project Manager position paying $100k and needing an MBA. I’m sure they’ll hire me with my equivalency.

    Idiots!

    BTW I am a strong writer, I can lift an old IBM Selectric with one hand, and break a pencil with my pinky. And, you had to use “good public speaker” (a moral quality not a statement on the quality of the speaking), as the qualification for someone with “excellent oral communicator” would have all sorts of interpretations. 🙂

    • Quasimodo
      11 February 2010 at 6:09 PM

      I may be a communicator, but I can’t type and think at the same time. Prior should read…”as the qualification for someone who is an “excellent oral communicator.”

      Stones and glass houses and that sort of thing. 😉

  2. Elder Oyster
    11 February 2010 at 2:47 AM

    Well, it could be worse. I mean, wouldn’t it be truly ridiculous if they were looking to hire a cleric based on an advanced science degree?

    Oh, wait. It IS worse…

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
