Home > Bp. Breidenthal, DSO News, Fisks, Leadership > DSO News: Writer Wanted

DSO News: Writer Wanted

17 December 2009

[H/T Pearls Before Swine]

From the DSO e-newsletter, e-Connections:

Writers wanted 

Vestry Papers, the award-winning publication of the Episcopal Church Foundation, is devoting their March/April 2010 issue to welcoming newcomers. Not just reaching out and inviting people in, but having something for them once they open the door — ie a healthy congregation, full of faith and joy.

They are looking for a dynamic writer, ordained or lay, with a story to tell. Length: 800 words. Pay: Good karma and 20,000 readers. Deadline: January 5. If interested, contact Richelle Thompson and she will put you in touch with the editors.

Heh. 

Um, where do I begin?

Maybe with the simplest point.  It’s probably petty to bring this up, but were you guys aware that the ASA of DSO is about 8,000?   I do agree that DSO has estimated its own membership (which is not the same as agreeing that this is fact) at about 24,000 in the year 2008.  That said, do you really think its reasonable that if 12,000 of the 20,000 people (that’s the number that e-Connection reports) aren’t getting up on Sunday, showering, shaving, dressing everyone and hurrying off to church, that they’d bother with reading something like Vestry Papers?

Seriously. 

Next, I understand that the reference to karma is meant light-heartedly, but it’s probably inappropriate for a diocesan publication.  I realize that this is the Episcopal Church, and we’re enamored with anything that doesn’t smell like true Christianity;  but maybe we can at least pretend to be a Christian institution, once in a while.

Finally, I just love this line  (and I love it the same way I love my job and my car mechanic, but not the same way I love my wife or love Shakespeare .. just to make that perfectly clear):

“Not just reaching out and inviting people in, but having something for them once they open the door — ie a healthy congregation, full of faith and joy.”

I know what you’re talking about, and I have some ideas about that  (by the way – it’s called “Evangelism,” and doesn’t require the talents of a writer), but before you can have something for people once they come in, you really need solid groups of discipled Christians.  And for that, you need sound Christian teachers, teaching bona fide Christians who are faithful, available, and teachable.  Unfortunately, that is not the picture of a typical DSO congregation;  less so as more Traditionalists leave our diocese. 

And thanks to Bp. Briedenthal, more Traditionalists are leaving, thank you very much. 

Yup. 

I wish things were different, but they aren’t. 

– Elder

  1. Quasimodo
    17 December 2009 at 2:47 PM

    Elder,

    I think the 20,000 number in the e-connections is the number of readers of Vestry Papers. OK, that is even generous, I get it and don’t read it, so 19,999. Any others?

    However, you are spot on with your analysis of attendance. Our small parish has twice the members on paper as in the pews, and you can’t get rid of the deadweight, and many may be literally that.

  2. Elder Oyster
    17 December 2009 at 5:54 PM

    I should probably subscribe to VP. Might be good for a couple of articles, and a couple of laughs.

    Never a dull moment, eh Quas?

    – EO

  3. Pearls Before Swine
    30 December 2009 at 4:02 AM

    Elder,

    Thanks for pointing this out, especially the “good karma” quote. I do wonder if most people in TEC know, or that Richelle in particualr, what karma is and know that it is not a Christian concept.

    I would have to disagree with you though in that I’m glad TEC is not pretending to be a Christian institution much anymore and may not even know enough to pretend (like the karma reference).

  4. Elder Oyster
    30 December 2009 at 10:33 AM

    RE: “I would have to disagree with you though in that I’m glad TEC is not pretending to be a Christian institution much anymore and may not even know enough to pretend (like the karma reference).”

    🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
