Home > Movie Reviews, Theology > Movie Review: Fantastic Mr. Fox

Movie Review: Fantastic Mr. Fox

10 December 2009

Yeah, yeah – It’s been out for three weeks already.  So sue me. 

Reasons why I liked it:

1)  It didn’t bore me to tears with sappy G-rated schlock;

2)  It didn’t gross me out with playground potty-humor;

3)  My pre-pre-school age child did not get nightmares from it (“Not too scary, Daddy”  .. we have this system where I tell her to cover her eyes, and she obeys)

4)  The movie narrates itself the same way a skilled adult would read a children’s story to a group of children.  And it’s enjoyable to watch this, too.

5)  The movie “gets” men.  Whether a mid-life crisis (is this all there is for me), or a teenage crisis (is this all I am) or an orphan crisis (what now, and where?), it really does ‘get’ men. 

Regarding this last one, a friend of mine (a wise woman) once told me that men are frequently in mid-life crisis  (i.e., there isn’t just “one” mid-life crisis).  On a personal note, I sure hope she’s wrong about that. 

As a Christian, I would have to say that it is nice to be an individual, but to also have a new identity, rooted in Christ.  “Those who have been baptized into Christ have put on Christ,”  ( Gal 3:27, paraphrased).  And the New Testament is replete with instances where the basis of our behavior is the identity we have been given at regeneration, which is based on the identity of Christ Himself  (c.f., 1 Cor 6:14-16,  Romans 6:11-13, Galatians 5:1-3, Phil. 3:20 – 4:1 ..). 

Christians always have a way to “reboot” themselves when things do go haywire  (Praise God!).  🙂

Reasons I didn’t like this movie: 

Gee, I can’t think of any. 

Go see it.  And take a kid with you. 

– Elder

Categories: Movie Reviews, Theology
