Home > Anglican Communion, Leadership, SSB's, The Real Deal > A STATEMENT ON THE BLESSING OF SAME SEX UNIONS, by Fr. David Bailey

A STATEMENT ON THE BLESSING OF SAME SEX UNIONS, by Fr. David Bailey

11 November 2009
[Elder’s Note:  Fr. David Bailey is rector of St. Stephen’s Episcopal Church in Cincinnati.]
 
I have great respect for my bishop and for all those whose prayerful discernment and study of Scripture – in the light of Tradition and Reason – has brought them to the point of supporting the church’s blessing of same sex unions.
 
Likewise, I have great respect for all those whose prayerful discernment and study of Scripture – in the light of Tradition and Reason – has brought them to the point of opposing the church’s blessings of same sex unions.
 
I count myself among those who oppose having the Diocese allow the public blessings of same sex unions.
 
My opposition is based on my own study of Scripture, as well as on the request of the four Instruments of [Anglican] Unity that public rites for the blessings of same sex unions not be authorized in the churches of the Anglican Communion.
 
[Those four Instruments being the Archbishop of Canterbury, the Lambeth Conference of Bishops, the Primates’ Council, and the Anglican Consultative Council].
 
All that said, I will not be performing blessings of same sex unions while Rector of St. Stephen’s Episcopal Church. If God calls me to change my position, I will as a matter of conscience submit my resignation as Rector to the Vestry.
 
As far as I can, I will continue to support the mission and ministry of the Diocese of Southern Ohio, particularly the new Latino ministries developing in Forest Park. As far as I can, I will continue to support Bishop Breidenthal in his mission and ministry, and will continue to serve under his Godly leadership.
 
I will also hold all in the Diocese accountable to the Bishop’s stated position that no priest will be required to perform same sex blessings in their congregation.
 
It is my hope that this profound disagreement does not derail us from our primary mission to proclaim Jesus Christ as Lord and Saviour and to serve Jesus Christ by word and deed.
 
 
David B. Bailey+
“Surfing the Edge of Chaos”
