Home > Bp. Breidenthal, DSO Meetings, Fisks, SSB's > Elder’s Fisk of Bp. Briedenthal’s 2009 DSO Convention Address – (Part I of V) – Introduction

Elder’s Fisk of Bp. Briedenthal’s 2009 DSO Convention Address – (Part I of V) – Introduction

9 November 2009

Bp. Briedenthal is an enigma to me. 

At his address to the 135th Convention of the Diocese of Southern Ohio, he announced that he will be approving as of Easter 2010, same-sex blessings within the diocese.  The announcement was met with a thunderous applause, followed by,  I am told, a sudden quiet. 

At the same time, resolutions were passed to hard-wire the Dennis Canon into the DSO canons, just in case it wasn’t already perfectly clear that the people are responsible for the property, but the diocese and the national church -owns- it.  Probably also to have something to threaten those who might be upset with what’s going down in this diocese. 

Paradoxically, or not, Bp. Briedenthal appears to be anticipating a slow death of the diocese.  That’s not surprising in and of itself;  for who could deny the truth of our slow death, having looked at the numbers, and the demographics  (and oh yes, our bishop is well aware of the demographics too.  I know because he talks about that extensively in his address). 

No, what is surprising about the anticipation of the slow death, is that it comes at a time when he announces the initiation of a brave new frontier for the diocese;  that of same-sex blessings.  Surely, if this is the will of God, then God will bless it?  Or, perhaps God will bless the bishop’s decision to move forward with same-sex blessings, with a peace that passes all understanding, in the face of certain doom? 

Sarcasm aside, I do think that Bp. Briedenthal is one of the good guys, at least the next generation of good guys (I’ll explain what I mean by that in a minute).  E.g., He did stand up against the consecration of bishop-elect Thew “Genpo” Forrester, favoring instead an orthodox view of the Atonement.  The other thing is that two clergy who know him personally have told me that with the exception of “the one thing,” that they find him to be very orthodox.

I know.  Wierd, huh?

But, by one of the new good guys, I mean that in my opinion, Bp. Briedenthal is apt to find himself squared off against the Forresters, the Spongs, and yes, the Schoris, and their goon-squads, as his career as a bishop continues.  I just don’t see any other possibility.  Traditionalist numbers have been hemorrhaging since the late 1970’s, and really, there are hardly enough of us dinosaurs left to implement any institutional changes. 

Nope, I fear for Bp. Briedenthal, that the Right has shifted, and that he himself will be the scapegoat that he and his have sent repeatedly out into the wilderness.  I feel for the man.  I really do. 

Even so, he did say some things that need to be answered, and they shall be.  To that end, I will be fisking his address to the 135th DSO Convention, all this week.  Sometimes I will pull my punches, and sometimes, I will not. 

May God bless Bishop Briedenthal.  I pray that I am around long enough to fisk for him, rather than against.

The sun was shining on the sea,
Shining with all his might:
He did his very best to make
The billows smooth and bright–
And this was odd, because it was
The middle of the night.

|
The moon was shining sulkily,
Because she thought the sun
Had got no business to be there
After the day was done–
“It’s very rude of him,” she said,
“To come and spoil the fun!”

|
The sea was wet as wet could be,
The sands were dry as dry.
You could not see a cloud, because
No cloud was in the sky:
No birds were flying overhead–
There were no birds to fly.

The Walrus and the Carpenter
Were walking close at hand;
They wept like anything to see
Such quantities of sand:
“If this were only cleared away,”
They said, “it would be grand!”

– from The Walrus and the Carpenter, by Lewis Carroll

– Elder

