Home > Elder's Soft Inside, Excerpts, Leadership > A note on the leadership excerpts..

A note on the leadership excerpts..

14 October 2009

I feel I need to qualify a few things regarding the excerpts on leadership.

The first is related to the mission of this blog, a website “by and for traditionalist Episcopalians.”  The ‘by‘ refers to me.  I am a conservative DSO Episcopalian, and I’ve decided to stick around.  Yeah, yeah… This is usually the point where many well-intentioned brothers and sisters start to talk about how to boil a live frog, or the man who drowned in spite of St. Peter sending two boats and a helicopter.  😉

Well, I guess they’re not all bad at that.  What I have often wondered, particularly lately is ‘then what?’  The frog jumps .. into the fire?  or into the talons of a grateful owl?  Similarly with the man on the roof, where does he go, and how?  Is he physically fit enough to grab an oar and paddle for his life?  Are there holes in the bottom of the boat?  Is the boat’s engine strong enough to navigate away from rocks and debris if the flood waters rage?

Or then there’s this – the frog and the man on the roof haven’t contributed to their predicaments.  It is permissable and even praiseworthy for them to leave their circumstances, precisely because there is nothing they have done to contribute to their circumstances.  On the other hand, there may be many things that conservative Episcopalians have done over the years to contribute to their present bad circumstances within TEC, so the possibility exists that they are called to bear the punishment, in order that they become a better group of people set aside for the Lord. 

So now I’ve tipped my hand.  As you can see, I am plainly for staying in the Episcopal Church, no matter how bad things become.  Right?

Well.. not exactly. 

So, what would incite me to leave the Episcopal Church?

Well, that doesn’t exactly state the dilemma correctly, either:  “I will leave TEC if ‘X’ happens,” has been answered by many conservative Anglicans already.  The dilemma has run out of gas, as it were. 

So here it is:  Maybe I will be called to stay in TEC indefinitely.  Maybe I will be called to leave, the day after tomorrow.  Regardless of whether I am called to stay, or whether I am called to leave, I will have to develop strategies that are consistent with my present realities within TEC, and my anticipated realities on the outside.  If I stay, I will need to do things that will strengthen groups of conservatives.  If I leave, I will need to do things that will strengthen those in my chosen group. 

Either way, we need good leaders, and good followers.  Because either way, without these things, we perish.   

Hence, the leadership excerpts. 

My son, do not despise the LORD’s discipline
   or be weary of his reproof,
for the LORD reproves him whom he loves,
   as a father the son in whom he delights.
  – Prov 3:11-12 (ESV)

If you faint in the day of adversity,
   your strength is small.
Rescue those who are being taken away to death;
   hold back those who are stumbling to the slaughter.
If you say, “Behold, we did not know this,”
    does not he who weighs the heart perceive it?
Does not he who keeps watch over your soul know it,
   and will he not repay man according to his work?
  – Proverbs 24:10-12

Stay strong, Oysters.  You’re going to need it.

Soon.

– Elder

