Home > "Dialogue", Elder's Soft Inside, Tidal pools > Some random thoughts on the blog start-up

Some random thoughts on the blog start-up

25 September 2009

It’s been an interesting three weeks.  On Tuesday the 8th, I was talking to a mentor and for some odd reason, she mentioned how it would be nice if every diocese had its own Episcopal watch-blog.  Maybe that was the first time she mentioned it, maybe she mentioned it before;  but for some reason, on that day, the idea quickened in my mind.  I spent a lot of sleepless nights, and sleepy days, all of that week.  As ideas for the blog took form, it became increasingly difficult to do other tasks, as sluggish as my mind had become.  ‘Do all people who start blogs feel this way?’ was a question on my mind then, and ‘You just never know until you’ve gone through it,’ was something I was ready to say to random strangers on the street, after the blog came into the world, one week later. 

As physically and mentally demanding as the quickening had been, delivering the ideas put down the previous week into the new blog, made me wish for what now seemed like bliss.  The thing about writing a draft is that you never write it just once.  You write it, put it away, then a lot of times, throw it away, before writing again.  That’s IF you write the same piece again, because sometimes you look at the draft, or something happens, and you delete it. 

This week, as evidenced by the slowdown in articles  (the reader will refer to the calendar widget, which shows what articles I published on what days – you’ll see two, sometimes three articles published in one day, on the first week, with the output clearly decelerating during this week), I’ve had some time to recover from the whole ordeal. 

Oddly enough, I went through a depression of sorts, yesterday.  No, I didn’t have to have people watching me around the clock, but there was a bit of depression there.  There seems as if there is so much material “out there,” but it’s hard to hunt, and in some ways, harder to gather.  I don’t know how the guys over at StandFirm have been doing this for as long as they have.  The only way they could still be doing it, is if the learning curve isn’t as steep where they are right now in their blogging careers.

Then there was the DSO news story, in draft form, that I purged.  I wasn’t ready to post it, and there have been some interesting developments that made me second-guess myself.  I think it was the right thing to do, and if it wasn’t, the story will still be waiting. 

And then there was the open letter to our GC 2009 deputation.  Responses?  Nada.  They had their reasons, I’m sure.  Heck, maybe one or two of them are still working on a response.  Still, the non-response was particularly depressing.  It seems quite unlike what another blogger, who also in my diocese, says on the subject of reconciliation:

I recently came across a news article in Episcopal Life about a group of folks who are seeking ways to advance a “culture of reconciliation” in our Church. Isn’t that a bit like telling the folks at Ford that they need to advance a “culture of car manufacturing?” Sigh. Still, whether we like it or not, this is exactly the type of work that we need to do right now…if our wounds are to heal, and if our witness is to be restored. This seems like a good start. I am a bit concerned that it has the typical tone of the Center…where we blame those at the poles for everything while refusing to hold a mirror up to our own failures…but at the same time, there is much good here. The emphasis on individual reflection, the realization that we need to let go of some of the old paradigms, the obvious commitment to other Christians on a human level.

By the way, this gentleman isn’t a traditionalist, but he doesn’t quite fit the mold of most revisionist Episcopalians, either.  I disagree with him in a lot of areas, but offhand I’d say he’s the real deal.  It also sounds that he is willing to wrestle with the people with whom he takes issue.  So there’s hope out there.. just not where one would expect it to be.

But then this week, I realized that the types of stories that I wrote over the past few weeks were rapidly drying up.  There is the occasional DSO news item that grabs one by the throat, but they don’t happen everyday, and plus.. they’re sort of boring.  It’s sort of like the fad in the 80’s with guys piercing their ears like girls.. first it has shock value, then it’s mainstream;  then it becomes the sort of different you want to be as a teen-ager .. only different like everyone else.  It’s boring.  So, now teenagers have to pierce their tongues and yada yada .. it becomes boring all over again. 

DSO news bores me.  It’s boring.  More boring than a pierced tongue, or a young man walking around with blue jeans halfway to his ankles.  Worse, it’s even more boring because I already have a good sense of what’s coming down the pike in this diocese, so the shock value is already worn off  (More on that, as it develops).  😉

Did I mention that it doesn’t arrive every day?

Ah yes, I did mention it.  And the point for my mentioning it would be, I need filler material for the slow news days.  Not that slow news days are bad.  Indeed, for this blog, no news is indeed good news.  Unfortunately, ‘no-news’ also means that I can’t write about the news. 

Kind of depressing, in a way.  Did I mention that I had been depressed? 

Ah yes, I did mention it.  And the point for my mentioning it would be, that today is a new day.  You see, this morning I was given a great idea for a series of articles.  The series involves donuts, an addictive card game (one that doesn’t involve gambling), and a disorder that is becoming increasingly mainstream in our society. 

And no, the disorder isn’t homosexuality (!) ;  though it depends (with apologies to Mr. Clinton) on what the meaning of isn’t, is.  😉

I hope you’ll like it. 

Oh yeah – the other thing is, I think three articles per week is a reasonable pace for me.  Four .. maybe.  Five?  Five is right out. 

Stay tuned, Oysters!

– Elder

( “Congratulations, Elder..  It’s a blog !” )

