Home > Movie Reviews > Review: Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs

Review: Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs

21 September 2009

It feels odd to write a movie review of what is essentially a cartoon, but Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs is just too good not to blog aboutparticularly here.  

The critics will thumbnail the plotline for you;  If you need something like that, you can read what a critic says about the movie.  I’m recommending the movie because of the other plot lines within the story.  Don’t think about it as a story about a scientist and his wacky creations.  View it as a story about fathers and sons, families and children, new families and older families, and families and society.  What happens for example, to a society, if the circuit of male affirmation between a father and his son is not quite closed?  What happens to a society if fathers and sons are not patient with one another? 

There is a resolution to the family issues.  The story is sci-fi / fantasy, so things like that don’t happen in real life.  Without going into spoilers, I will say that there are aspects of the resolution that are preposterous, and other aspects that are on the money. 

Go see it.  If you’re single, take your niece or nephew so you won’t be the only adult in the theater who is not accompanied by a child (trust me, it’s a creepy feeling).  If you can wait for the dvd to come out, do that.

I wept at the end.  My wife was teasing me about it. 

– Elder

PS – Speaking of patience, I am down with something, so please be patient with me as I will be attempting to blog less as I recoup.  When I feel better, I’ll attempt to blog at a more comfortable breakneck-speed   Please check back every few days. 

(Note:  You can’t really understand the kind of work it takes to start and maintain a site like this one, until you have been there.  Trust me, I’m a different man than I was two weeks ago).

Categories: Movie Reviews
